Info about & contact info for the Servant Leadership Council

Latest Update from the SLC

What is the Servant Leadership Council?

The SLC is the lay lead council, elected by the congregation, and charged by the Church Constitution with being responsible for the overall strategic direction of the church. The SLC is also charged with establishing strategies and objectives to fulfill Gayton‚Äôs purpose, vision and values. This involves much weekly, if not daily engagement with the Senior Pastor and ministry team. In addition, the SLC approves the church budget as compiled by the Stewardship Task Group, serves as servant leaders of Gayton and meets monthly with the Senior Pastor. Terms on the SLC are generally for three years commencing July 1 and the terms are staggered. The SLC must be comprised of at least six members and can be as large as eleven members. The SLC annually elects a chair, vice-chair and a secretary. The SLC makes recommendations at church business meetings, including the church budget for congregational approval, and the chair moderates the business meetings. Each SLC member serves as a liaison to other church councils or task groups.


Tom Burgess

Nancy Lucy

Karen Mitscherlich

Mark Ratliff

Don Parr

Steve Dowdy

Randy Wimbish (Vice Chair)

Rob House

Scott Johnson (Chair)

Keith Warman

Get in touch with the SLC!

Sent us a message below!

*Please note that confidential information meant for the SLC SHOULD NOT be sent through the webform, rather sent through email directly to